IN-PERSON & ZOOM MEETING : Tele-BA and Fall Prevention for Depressed Homebound Seniors
Jun 01, 2023 12:00 PM
Dr. Namkee Choi
IN-PERSON & ZOOM MEETING : Tele-BA and Fall Prevention for Depressed Homebound Seniors
In this presentation, I will talk about risk factors for late-life depression, evidence-based brief psychosocial treatment (Behavioral Activation or BA) and fall prevention, and our ongoing research project in which we provide tele-delivered BA and fall prevention for homebound/disabled older adults who are not served by the existing systems of mental health services and fall prevention programs.


About Dr. Namkee Choi

Namkee Choi, PhD, is Professor and Louis and Ann Wolens Centennial Chair in Gerontology in the University of Texas at Austin’s Steve Hicks School of Social Work. She received her MSW degree from the University of Minnesota, supported by International Rotary Foundation Scholarship. She received her PhD from the University of California at Berkeley, and intensive geriatric mental health research training at the Advanced Research Institute in Geriatric Mental Health at the Weill Cornell Institute of Geriatric Psychiatry, a program funded by the National Institute of Mental Health. Dr. Choi’s primary research goal is to improve low-income and /or  disabled older adults’ access to mental health services, especially in the context of geriatric mental health workforce shortages. Through NIH-funded randomized clinical trials, Dr. Choi and her research team have provided evidence for effectiveness of videoconferenced depression treatments and fall prevention delivered by lay counselors/coaches. Her community partners are Meals on Wheels, Area Agencies on Aging, and other aging service network agencies. Dr. Choi have also done extensive research on late-life suicide and substance misuse among older adults. Dr. Choi was one of the five recipients of the 2019 Texas Health and Human Services Commission’s Innovators in Aging Award and the 2021 recipient of the Gerontological Society of America’s Maxwell A. Pollack Award for Contributions to Healthy Aging.